Cory Should Start Filling Out Some Thought Records Before he Speaks (The Real World Ex-Plosion Episode 7 Recap)

mtv-real-world-explosion-cast-main

 

I know I’m starting to sound like a broken record, but once again I am pressed for time so this recap isn’t going to be as in-depth as my normal take.  The week we pick up where we left off with Cory finding out that Lauren is pregnant.  Not surprisingly he doesn’t take the news well, in fact he takes it about as badly as someone possibly could after finding out their ex that they broke up with over a year ago but were considering getting back together with when they popped up on the reality show your currently filming was pregnant.  That being said, here are my take aways from this weeks episode.

-Cory’s immediate response to finding out about Lauren’s pregnancy is to say “not from me.”  While this is a fair assumption since they only had sex two days prior, it doesn’t make Cory look like the greatest guy.

-Stepping away from the drama for a moment – DOUG IS BACK! I personally couldn’t have been more excited to see him (Doug is the guy who failed at hooking up with Jenny the roommates first night in the house).  Did Doug try out for the show and get rejected so he’s just hanging around getting all the air time he can?  Also how surprising was Brian’s reaction when Jenny told him Doug had stopped by?  Everyone, Jenny most of all was sure he was going to flip out but he seemed totally cool with it.  (I could see him using it as ammo at a later time however).

-A part of me really wants to feel bad for Cory, because the situation is kind of shitty for him too.  However when Cory responds with “I can’t”  when a crying Lauren asks for his support its hard to feel bad for him.  Especially after we find out that Lauren helped Cory through a pregnancy scare years earlier that occurred after he cheated on her with another girl.

-If there is one thing that I’ve learned so far on this season of exes it’s that none of these people should be involved with their ex boyfriends/girlfriends (with the possible exception of Arielle and Ashley).  In fact these ex couples probably shouldn’t even talk after the show finishes, these are some of the most toxic relationships I’ve ever seen.

-Cory completely disagrees with Lauren’s logic that he should be supportive of her because she was supportive of him in a similar situation.  In his own words: “you say this every time, ‘Cory if I was to do this what would you do?’ Not be there for you.  I’m sorry, I’m not like you.” (once again, really hard to feel bad for Cory when he’s saying things like this).

laurenshock

(This is Lauren’s reaction after she learns she’s been dating on a*hole on and off since the 7th grade)

-Lauren should not have gone to that club.

-In the club Cory says he’s never felt hurt in his life and he is hurt today.  He then decides to ease the pain by flirting with another girl right in front of Lauren.  (Again Cory, I’m trying but I just can’t feel a lot of sympathy for you).

-Why does Cory decide to call his grandma?  Why do people on this show always call their grandparents when crazy shit is happening to them, that’s the last person I would call.

-Everything from Jenny in this episode was amazing.  From having no idea Lauren was pregnant when everyone else knew to finding an old hot dog in her purse to the revelation that her and Brian have always bonded over making brownies.  Jenny is by far the most entertaining person on this show, and I’m going on record as saying I’m fully behind her getting her own spin-off after the season finishes airing.

-Who would have thought that Tom would be the one to come out with some good relationship advice? Cory takes his advice to show some maturity, rather than trying to make Lauren feel badly for what happened.

-The online rumors were right again, Lauren decides to leave the house and deal with the pregnancy with her friends and family (not her mentally abusive ex-boyfriend).

-I don’t really understand what Arielle and Ashley were fighting about, but they made up like 30 seconds later so I don’t think it matters.

-I don’t know who came up with the idea for the guys and girls to go out separately, but it was clearly a terrible idea.

This week’s episode ends with Brian kissing a girl as the guys are leaving the bar, and based on the preview it looks like next week will deal with the aftermath (which looks bad for Brian and Jenny’s relationship, but good for viewers).  Next week’s episode also appears to deal with Jenna and Jay’s issues, which I’m a lot less excited for.  Jenna and Jay are too normal for their drama to be exciting, the preview just looks depressing.  That’s all I’ve got for this week, to recap we’re down another cast member and I’m back to hating Cory.  I don’t have time to talk about the after show right now, but I may share some comments on it sometime this weekend depending on how much time I have, either way I’ll include the link here so you can check it out for yourself if you missed it last night.  I’ll see you Thursday for a recap of The Bachelor “The Women Tell All” special, and next Thursday for another recap of The Real World Ex-Plosion.

If you missed this weeks episode or the after show here are the links (episode 7, after show)

Thoughts/Questions/Comments – You can reach me via email – SHMcG223@gmail.com or on Twitter – @NoOneGoesToClev

Leave a Reply

